Event box

Girls Who Code

Girls Who Code is a nationwide, nonprofit organization which aims to increase the number of women in computer science and related fields. The organization promotes safe, fun environments for girls in grades 6-12 to build computer programming skills and confidence. Over 13 sessions, those who’ve registered will be taught fundamental concepts of loops, variables, conditionals, and functions that form the basis of all computer programming languages. Participants will learn to work as a team while forming leadership skills and collaborating on a project. At the program’s conclusion, a ceremony will be held to recognize the accomplishments of the participants.  

Registration is required and opens at 10am on Monday, December 17. Registration for this program will only be accepted online at bloomingtonlibrary.org. If you have questions or need assistance registering, please email techprogramming@bloomingtonlibrary.org. Participants should plan to attend all 13 sessions. Snacks will be provided. 

Dates & Times:
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Wednesday, January 16, 2019
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Wednesday, January 23, 2019
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Wednesday, January 30, 2019
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Wednesday, February 13, 2019
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Wednesday, February 20, 2019
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Wednesday, March 6, 2019
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Wednesday, March 13, 2019
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Wednesday, March 20, 2019
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Wednesday, March 27, 2019
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Wednesday, April 3, 2019
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Wednesday, April 10, 2019
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Wednesday, April 17, 2019
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Location:
Community Room
Categories:
  Teen  
Registration has closed. (This event has to be booked as part of a series)

Upcoming Events

Sep
18
6:00pm - 7:00pm, Children's Department.
Sep
18
6:30pm - 8:30pm, Community Room.
Sep
19
10:00am - 10:30am, Story Room.
Sep
19
10:30am - 11:00am, Story Room.
Sep
19
2:00pm - 4:00pm, Community Room.
Sep
19
4:00pm - 6:00pm.
Sep
20
10:00am - 10:30am, Story Room.
Sep
21
10:00am - 12:00pm, Children's Department.
Sep
21
12:00pm - 2:30pm, Community Room.
Sep
23
All Day Event, Bloomington Public Library.